doola vs LegalShield

Two legal & formation tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • doola costs less for a six-person team.
  • LegalShield fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
  • doola fits online store.
  • LegalShield suits teams past ten people.
ComparedooladoolaLegalShieldLegalShield
In one lineUS LLC formation for founders anywhere, billed yearlyPrepaid legal plan: lawyer advice for a flat monthly fee
Starting priceFrom $24.75/moFrom $53.95/mo
Six-person team$24.75/mo$53.95/mo
PlansStarter $297/yr + state fees (formation, EIN, registered agent, address); Pulse bookkeeping $300/yr; Tax & Compliance $1,999/yr; Business-in-a-Box $2,999/yrSmall Business Basic $59.95/mo or $53.95 billed yearly; Preferred $99.95 ($89.95 yearly); Premium $169.95 ($152.95 yearly); additional fees and waiting periods may apply
Pricing modelPaidPaid
Free trial——
Usersn/a1 owner and 2 users on Basic
IntegrationsMercury, Relay, StripeProvider law firm in your state
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 peopleJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS
Phone supportTax and Compliance and upPlans not stated
Live chatPlans not statedNone listed
Support hoursNot publishedNot published
Incidents postedWe found no public status page for doola.We found no public status page for LegalShield.
Trustpilot score4.4 / 5 from 2,089 reviews4.4 / 5 from 9,507 reviews
Fit: Retail shop2570
Fit: Restaurant or café1570
Fit: Service business6578
Fit: Agency or studio7572
Fit: Trades or contractor1575
Fit: Online store8265
Why people pick it
  • Built for non-US founders
  • EIN and address included
  • Flat monthly fee for lawyer phone advice
  • Trial defense hours grow each year
Where it falls short
  • Renews every year
  • Costlier than plain filing services
  • Letters and document reviews capped on Basic
  • An assigned firm, not a lawyer you choose
Visit doola Visit LegalShield

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with doola or LegalShield

Every legal & formation comparison