FreshBooks
FreshBooks
Invoicing and time tracking for service businesses
FreshBooks started as an invoicing tool, and invoicing is still its strongest part. Time tracking, estimates, and client portals are built in. Each extra team member adds $11 a month, which gets expensive for a bigger team.
Cost at your size
FreshBooks costs $23 a month for one seat.
FreshBooks costs the same as the median accounting tool for one seat ($23).
FreshBooks pays for itself if it saves less than an hour a month at $30 an hour, our assumption.
Change assumptions
Figures from the vendor's published prices. How we calculate prices
What FreshBooks connects to
Payroll & HR
E-commerce
Banking
Invoicing & payments
Point of sale, payroll & HR, e-commerce, banking, invoicing & payments and expense management tools in our catalog · found on vendor and marketplace pages, October 2026 · 5 of 6 checked by us
Has a Zapier app · The vendor lists 100+ integrations
Sources
- Gusto: support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/115014586048-How-does-the-Gusto-app-work, found 2026-10-12, checked 2026-10-15
- Payoneer Workforce Management: skuad.io/integrations?45f52245_page=3, found 2026-10-22
- Squarespace Commerce: support.squarespace.com/hc/en-us/articles/360000975547-Squarespace-Extensions, found 2026-10-12, checked 2026-10-15
- Ecwid: support.ecwid.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003663669-Connecting-Ecwid-with-FreshBooks, found 2026-10-12, checked 2026-10-15
- Novo: novo.co/help/which-accounting-tools-can-i-connect-to-my-account, found 2026-10-12, checked 2026-10-15
- Stripe Invoicing: support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/216579858-How-do-I-accept-online-payments-with-Stripe-Standard, found 2026-10-12, checked 2026-10-15
Getting help with FreshBooks
- How to reach them
- Phone: plans not stated · office hours
- Callback: plans not stated
- Email: plans not stated
- Live chat: every plan · 24/7
- Help center: every plan
- Phone: Select only
- Onboarding
- Dedicated Account Manager and customized training (Select only)
4 incidents posted on FreshBooks's status page, which covers all FreshBooks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by FreshBooks. Status page
A vendor that posts every small issue can show more incidents than one that posts few, so a low count doesn't prove fewer problems.
From FreshBooks's support and pricing pages, October 2026 · checked by us 2026-10-14 · How we gather this
Sources
- freshbooks.com/pricing, read 2026-10-13
- support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613, read 2026-10-13
- freshbooks.com/contact, read 2026-10-13
- Phone: “Phone Call - A region-specific phone number or an email ticket for a callback” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Phone hours: “Support is free and available during office hours.” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Callback: “Phone Call - A region-specific phone number or an email ticket for a callback” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Email: “Email Ticket - Email ticket to an appropriate support specialist” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Live chat: “Self-serve support is available globally and 24/7 through our help centre here and through our chatbot, FreshBot.” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Live chat hours: “Self-serve support is available globally and 24/7” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Help center: “Self-serve support is available globally and 24/7 through our help centre here and through our chatbot, FreshBot.” (support.freshbooks.com/hc/en-us/articles/13459529977613)
- Phone: “Gain access to dedicated phone support” (freshbooks.com/pricing)
- Onboarding: “With FreshBooks Select, you get preferred Bank Transfers (ACH) and credit card transaction rates, a dedicated Account Manager, customized training for you and your team” (freshbooks.com/pricing)
What reviewers say about FreshBooks
- Capterra4.5 / 5 · 4,529 reviews
- Trustpilot3.8 / 5 · 1,051 reviews
- G2See reviews on G2
- US App Store (iPhone app)4.7 / 5 · 10,979 ratings
- Google Play (Android app)4.1 / 5 · 5,970 ratings
Each site has its own reviewers, so we show the scores side by side and never average them. App ratings cover the mobile app only. Scores read Oct 28, 2026. How we show reviews
Recent changes at FreshBooks
- Apr 2026LaunchExpanded built-in lending, letting partner lenders use your FreshBooks invoices and payment history to assess a loan. freshbooks.com
Picked from FreshBooks's own pages and the press, reviewed by us before publishing · checked weekly, last check Oct 26, 2026 · How we pick news
Why people pick it
- Best-looking invoices
- Time tracking built in
Where it falls short
- Per-user fees
- Client caps on lower plans
Alternatives in accounting
Are you FreshBooks? Feature FreshBooks at the top of accounting, or sponsor it in search and the quiz, from $99 a month. You can also manage its links or correct the listing.