QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
FreshBooks costs less for a six-person team.
QuickBooks Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor, online store.
QuickBooks Online suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | The accounting software most US accountants already use | Invoicing and time tracking for service businesses |
| Starting price | From $38/mo | From $23/mo + $11/extra person |
| Six-person team | $38/mo | $23/mo |
| Plans | Simple Start $38/mo (1 user); Essentials $85/mo (3 users); Plus $140/mo (5 users); Advanced up to 25 users; every plan adds 2 accountant logins; list prices, with promotions often cutting the first 3 months | Lite $23/mo (5 clients); Plus $43/mo (50 clients); Premium $70/mo (unlimited clients); the same billed yearly; first-year discounts common (Lite was $1/mo for the first year when checked); team members $11/mo each |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| Users | 1–25 depending on plan | 1 included |
| Both connect to | Gusto, Squarespace Commerce, Stripe Invoicing, Novo, Payoneer Workforce Management | |
| Also connects to | Square POS, Toast, Rippling, Homebase, Deel, Shopify, Mercury, Relay +42 more800+ listed by the vendor | Ecwid100+ listed by the vendor |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | Plans not stated; Select only |
| Live chat | Every paid plan | Every plan |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon–Fri 6 AM–6 PM PT, Sat 6 AM–3 PM PT, Sun closed (Simple Start, Essentials, Plus), Mon–Fri 6 AM–7 PM PT, Sat–Sun 6 AM–3 PM PT (Advanced) · Phone: Monday- Friday 6am -6pm PST | Phone: office hours · Live chat: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on Intuit's status page, which covers all Intuit products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Intuit. Status page | 4 incidents posted on FreshBooks's status page, which covers all FreshBooks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by FreshBooks. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.3 / 5 from 8,546 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 4,529 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 3.8 / 5 from 1,051 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 92 | 58 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 40 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 90 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 88 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 92 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 80 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit QuickBooks Online | Visit FreshBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
QuickBooks Online and FreshBooks: partner links. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with QuickBooks Online or FreshBooks
QuickBooks Online vs XeroQuickBooks Online vs WaveQuickBooks Online vs Zoho BooksQuickBooks Online vs PuzzleQuickBooks Online vs AkauntingQuickBooks Online vs KashooQuickBooks Online vs ZipBooksQuickBooks Online vs BenchQuickBooks Online vs Patriot AccountingQuickBooks Online vs KickQuickBooks Online vs PilotXero vs FreshBooksWave vs FreshBooksFreshBooks vs Zoho BooksFreshBooks vs PuzzleFreshBooks vs AkauntingFreshBooks vs KashooFreshBooks vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs BenchFreshBooks vs Patriot AccountingFreshBooks vs KickFreshBooks vs Pilot