QuickBooks Online

Intuit

The accounting software most US accountants already use

QuickBooks Online is the safe pick in the US because nearly every bookkeeper and CPA works in it. Simple Start covers invoicing, bank feeds, and basic reports. Job costing and inventory need the Plus tier.

Free trial30-day trial1–25 depending on planUS · UK · CA · AU

Cost at your size

QuickBooks Online costs $38 a month for one seat.

QuickBooks Online costs $15 more than the median accounting tool for one seat ($23).

QuickBooks Online pays for itself if it saves 1.5 hours a month at $30 an hour, our assumption.

Change assumptions

Figures from the vendor's published prices. How we calculate prices

What QuickBooks Online connects to

Point of sale, payroll & HR, e-commerce, banking, invoicing & payments and expense management tools in our catalog · found on vendor and marketplace pages, October 2026 · 53 of 55 checked by us

Has a Zapier app · The vendor lists 800+ integrations

Sources

Getting help with QuickBooks Online

How to reach them
  • Live chat: every paid plan · Mon–Fri 6 AM–6 PM PT, Sat 6 AM–3 PM PT, Sun closed (Simple Start, Essentials, Plus); Mon–Fri 6 AM–7 PM PT, Sat–Sun 6 AM–3 PM PT (Advanced)
  • Callback: every paid plan
  • Phone (US): plans not stated · Monday- Friday 6am -6pm PST
  • Help center: every paid plan
  • Community forum: plans not stated
Onboarding
  • Intelligent onboarding with expert-guided setup (Simple Start and up)

5 incidents posted on Intuit's status page, which covers all Intuit products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Intuit. Status page

A vendor that posts every small issue can show more incidents than one that posts few, so a low count doesn't prove fewer problems.

From Intuit's support and pricing pages, October 2026 · checked by us 2026-10-14 · How we gather this

Sources

What reviewers say about QuickBooks Online

Each site has its own reviewers, so we show the scores side by side and never average them. App ratings cover the mobile app only. Scores read Oct 28, 2026. How we show reviews

Recent changes at QuickBooks Online

  • Jun 2026LaunchBill Pay Elite became part of the Advanced plan at no extra subscription cost, and all Bill Pay users got free standard ACH. quickbooks.intuit.com
  • Jun 2026LaunchAdded native inventory tools to Plus and Advanced, sold as a $40 a month add-on for Simple Start and Essentials. quickbooks.intuit.com
  • Jun 2026LaunchKPI scorecards and pre-built dashboards came to Essentials and Plus. quickbooks.intuit.com

Picked from Intuit's own pages and the press, reviewed by us before publishing · checked weekly, last check Oct 26, 2026 · How we pick news

Why people pick it

  • Every US accountant knows it
  • Strong bank feeds and reconciliation
  • Large integration catalog

Where it falls short

  • Frequent price increases
  • User limits on lower tiers

Alternatives in accounting

Are you Intuit? Feature QuickBooks Online at the top of accounting, or sponsor it in search and the quiz, from $99 a month. You can also manage its links or correct the listing.