Wave vs FreshBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Wave costs less for a six-person team.
Wave fits retail shop, restaurant or café, online store.FreshBooks fits agency or studio.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free double-entry accounting and invoicing | Invoicing and time tracking for service businesses |
| Starting price | Free | From $23/mo + $11/extra person |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $23/mo |
| Plans | Free (bank transactions entered by hand); Pro $19/mo or $190/yr adds automatic bank imports and receipt capture; cards 2.9% + 60¢ | Lite $23/mo (5 clients); Plus $43/mo (50 clients); Premium $70/mo (unlimited clients); the same billed yearly; first-year discounts common (Lite was $1/mo for the first year when checked); team members $11/mo each |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | 1 on free plan | 1 included |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | Helcim, Shoeboxed, Wave Payroll, Wise Business15+ listed by the vendor | Gusto, Squarespace Commerce, Stripe Invoicing, Novo, Ecwid, Payoneer Workforce Management100+ listed by the vendor |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · CA | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | Plans not stated; Select only |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every plan |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern, Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 4:45 PM Eastern | Phone: office hours · Live chat: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on H&R Block's status page, which covers all H&R Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by H&R Block. Status page | 4 incidents posted on FreshBooks's status page, which covers all FreshBooks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by FreshBooks. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 1,731 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 4,529 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.1 / 5 from 558 reviews | 3.8 / 5 from 1,051 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 71 | 58 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 60 | 40 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 90 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 70 | 88 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 75 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Wave | Visit FreshBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
FreshBooks: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Wave or FreshBooks
QuickBooks Online vs WaveQuickBooks Online vs FreshBooksXero vs WaveXero vs FreshBooksWave vs Zoho BooksWave vs PuzzleWave vs AkauntingWave vs KashooWave vs ZipBooksWave vs BenchWave vs Patriot AccountingWave vs KickWave vs PilotFreshBooks vs Zoho BooksFreshBooks vs PuzzleFreshBooks vs AkauntingFreshBooks vs KashooFreshBooks vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs BenchFreshBooks vs Patriot AccountingFreshBooks vs KickFreshBooks vs Pilot