Roll by ADP vs Square Payroll
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Roll by ADP costs less for a six-person team.Square Payroll fits restaurant or café.
Roll by ADP fits agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.Square Payroll suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | ADP payroll run from a chat-style app | Payroll that pulls hours and tips from Square POS |
| Starting price | From $39/mo + $5/person | From $35/mo + $6/person |
| Six-person team | $69/mo | $71/mo |
| Plans | $39/mo + $5 per worker; first 3 months free | Full service $35/mo + $6 per person paid (tax filings, multistate); contractors only $6 per person; no contract; paper W-2s $3 each |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Paid |
| Free trial | 90 days | — |
| Users | Per worker | No minimum |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Homebase Scheduling, When I Work |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST · Email: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST | Phone: M–F 6 a.m.–6 p.m. PT |
| Incidents posted | We found no public status page for ADP. | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | See reviews on Capterra | 4.7 / 5 from 622 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 85 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 78 | 88 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 72 | 55 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 70 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Roll by ADP | Visit Square Payroll | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Roll by ADP or Square Payroll
Gusto vs Roll by ADPGusto vs Square PayrollRippling vs Roll by ADPRippling vs Square PayrollHomebase vs Roll by ADPHomebase vs Square PayrollDeel vs Roll by ADPDeel vs Square PayrollQuickBooks Payroll vs Roll by ADPQuickBooks Payroll vs Square PayrollOnPay vs Roll by ADPOnPay vs Square PayrollPatriot Payroll vs Roll by ADPPatriot Payroll vs Square PayrollRoll by ADP vs Wave PayrollRoll by ADP vs Payroll4FreeRoll by ADP vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementSquare Payroll vs Wave PayrollSquare Payroll vs Payroll4FreeSquare Payroll vs Payoneer Workforce Management