Deel vs Square Payroll
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Payroll costs less for a six-person team.
Square Payroll fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Deel fits agency or studio.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Contractors and employees in 150 countries | Payroll that pulls hours and tips from Square POS |
| Starting price | From $49/person | From $35/mo + $6/person |
| Six-person team | $294/mo | $71/mo |
| Plans | Contractors $49 per contractor per month; contractor of record $325 per contractor per month; US PEO $125 per employee per month; EOR $599 per employee per month | Full service $35/mo + $6 per person paid (tax filings, multistate); contractors only $6 per person; no contract; paper W-2s $3 each |
| Pricing model | Paid | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Per person | No minimum |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero, Puzzle200+ listed by the vendor | Homebase Scheduling, When I Work |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: M–F 6 a.m.–6 p.m. PT |
| Incidents posted | Deel has a public status page. Status page | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.9 / 5 from 4,314 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 622 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.6 / 5 from 9,733 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 10 | 85 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 5 | 88 |
| Fit: Service business | 40 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 55 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 10 | 70 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Deel | Visit Square Payroll | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Deel: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Deel or Square Payroll
Gusto vs DeelGusto vs Square PayrollRippling vs DeelRippling vs Square PayrollHomebase vs DeelHomebase vs Square PayrollDeel vs QuickBooks PayrollDeel vs OnPayDeel vs Patriot PayrollDeel vs Roll by ADPDeel vs Wave PayrollDeel vs Payroll4FreeDeel vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementQuickBooks Payroll vs Square PayrollOnPay vs Square PayrollPatriot Payroll vs Square PayrollRoll by ADP vs Square PayrollSquare Payroll vs Wave PayrollSquare Payroll vs Payroll4FreeSquare Payroll vs Payoneer Workforce Management