Gusto vs Square Payroll
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Payroll costs less for a six-person team.
Gusto fits service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Payroll, benefits, and onboarding for small teams | Payroll that pulls hours and tips from Square POS |
| Starting price | From $49/mo + $7/person | From $35/mo + $6/person |
| Six-person team | $91/mo | $71/mo |
| Plans | Simple $49/mo + $7 per person; Plus $99/mo + $12 per person; Premium $179/mo + $22 per person; no yearly price shown | Full service $35/mo + $6 per person paid (tax filings, multistate); contractors only $6 per person; no contract; paper W-2s $3 each |
| Pricing model | Paid | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Per person | No minimum |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Homebase Scheduling, When I Work | |
| Also connects to | Xero, FreshBooks, Jobber, Connecteam, Buddy Punch, ZipBooks, Bench, Kick +1 more | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US | US |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Every plan (US) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: M–F 6 a.m.–6 p.m. PT |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Gusto's status page, which covers all Gusto products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 4,230 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 622 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 2,550 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 90 | 85 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 88 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 92 | 55 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 70 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Gusto | Visit Square Payroll | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Gusto: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Gusto or Square Payroll
Gusto vs RipplingGusto vs HomebaseGusto vs DeelGusto vs QuickBooks PayrollGusto vs OnPayGusto vs Patriot PayrollGusto vs Roll by ADPGusto vs Wave PayrollGusto vs Payroll4FreeGusto vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementRippling vs Square PayrollHomebase vs Square PayrollDeel vs Square PayrollQuickBooks Payroll vs Square PayrollOnPay vs Square PayrollPatriot Payroll vs Square PayrollRoll by ADP vs Square PayrollSquare Payroll vs Wave PayrollSquare Payroll vs Payroll4FreeSquare Payroll vs Payoneer Workforce Management