QuickBooks Payroll vs Roll by ADP
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Roll by ADP costs less for a six-person team.
QuickBooks Payroll fits agency or studio, online store.
QuickBooks Payroll suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Payroll inside QuickBooks Online, sold as a bundle | ADP payroll run from a chat-style app |
| Starting price | From $88/mo + $7/person | From $39/mo + $5/person |
| Six-person team | $130/mo | $69/mo |
| Plans | Now sold as QuickBooks Workforce: Payroll + Simple Start $88/mo; Payroll + Essentials $135/mo, both + $7/employee; Premium + Plus $228/mo + $13/employee; often 50% off for 3 months | $39/mo + $5 per worker; first 3 months free |
| Pricing model | Paid | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 90 days |
| Users | Per employee | Per worker |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Homebase Scheduling, Connecteam, Buddy Punch, When I Work, Planday | No others on record |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Every paid plan | Every plan |
| Support hours | Help center: Mon–Fri 6 AM–6 PM PT, weekends closed (Workforce Payroll), Mon–Fri 5 AM–7 PM PT, Sat–Sun 6 AM–3 PM PT (Workforce Premium and Elite) · Phone: Monday- Friday 6am -6pm PST | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST · Email: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on Intuit's status page, which covers all Intuit products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Intuit. Status page | We found no public status page for ADP. |
| Capterra score | Not listed | See reviews on Capterra |
| Fit: Retail shop | 85 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 82 | 78 |
| Fit: Service business | 88 | 80 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 72 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 88 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 78 | 65 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit QuickBooks Payroll | Visit Roll by ADP | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
QuickBooks Payroll: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with QuickBooks Payroll or Roll by ADP
Gusto vs QuickBooks PayrollGusto vs Roll by ADPRippling vs QuickBooks PayrollRippling vs Roll by ADPHomebase vs QuickBooks PayrollHomebase vs Roll by ADPDeel vs QuickBooks PayrollDeel vs Roll by ADPQuickBooks Payroll vs OnPayQuickBooks Payroll vs Patriot PayrollQuickBooks Payroll vs Square PayrollQuickBooks Payroll vs Wave PayrollQuickBooks Payroll vs Payroll4FreeQuickBooks Payroll vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementOnPay vs Roll by ADPPatriot Payroll vs Roll by ADPRoll by ADP vs Square PayrollRoll by ADP vs Wave PayrollRoll by ADP vs Payroll4FreeRoll by ADP vs Payoneer Workforce Management