Gusto vs Roll by ADP
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Roll by ADP costs less for a six-person team.
Gusto fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, online store.
Gusto suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Payroll, benefits, and onboarding for small teams | ADP payroll run from a chat-style app |
| Starting price | From $49/mo + $7/person | From $39/mo + $5/person |
| Six-person team | $91/mo | $69/mo |
| Plans | Simple $49/mo + $7 per person; Plus $99/mo + $12 per person; Premium $179/mo + $22 per person; no yearly price shown | $39/mo + $5 per worker; first 3 months free |
| Pricing model | Paid | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 90 days |
| Users | Per person | Per worker |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero, FreshBooks, Homebase Scheduling, Jobber, Connecteam, Buddy Punch, When I Work, ZipBooks +3 more | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US | US |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every plan |
| Support hours | Not published | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST · Email: Mon. - Fri., 8am - 5pm EST |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Gusto's status page, which covers all Gusto products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | We found no public status page for ADP. |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 4,230 reviews | See reviews on Capterra |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 2,550 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 90 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 78 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 80 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 92 | 72 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 65 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Gusto | Visit Roll by ADP | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Gusto: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Gusto or Roll by ADP
Gusto vs RipplingGusto vs HomebaseGusto vs DeelGusto vs QuickBooks PayrollGusto vs OnPayGusto vs Patriot PayrollGusto vs Square PayrollGusto vs Wave PayrollGusto vs Payroll4FreeGusto vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementRippling vs Roll by ADPHomebase vs Roll by ADPDeel vs Roll by ADPQuickBooks Payroll vs Roll by ADPOnPay vs Roll by ADPPatriot Payroll vs Roll by ADPRoll by ADP vs Square PayrollRoll by ADP vs Wave PayrollRoll by ADP vs Payroll4FreeRoll by ADP vs Payoneer Workforce Management