SumUp

SumUp

Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers

SumUp sells a card reader for a one-time price and runs on a free app with no monthly fee. You pay 2.6% + 10¢ per in-person payment. SumUp is for market stalls, pop-ups, and mobile services. A busy shop that needs inventory and staff tools should look elsewhere.

Free tierUnlimitedUS · UK

Cost at your size

Monthly card sales

On $10,000 of card sales a month: $300 a month with card fees, at a $25 average sale.

SumUp costs $20 less than the median point of sale tool for $10,000 of monthly card sales ($320).

Change assumptions

Card fees at US rates. Figures from the vendor's published prices. How we calculate prices

What SumUp connects to

Accounting tools in our catalog · found on vendor and marketplace pages, October 2026 · 2 of 2 checked by us

Sources

Getting help with SumUp

How to reach them
  • Phone (US): plans not stated · POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week; Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri.
  • Email (US): plans not stated
  • Live chat (UK): plans not stated
  • Phone (UK): plans not stated
  • Help center: plans not stated

11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page

A vendor that posts every small issue can show more incidents than one that posts few, so a low count doesn't prove fewer problems.

From SumUp's support and pricing pages, October 2026 · checked by us 2026-10-14 · How we gather this

Sources

What reviewers say about SumUp

Each site has its own reviewers, so we show the scores side by side and never average them. App ratings cover the mobile app only. Scores read Oct 28, 2026. How we show reviews

Recent changes at SumUp

  • Apr 2026LaunchUK: launched SumUp Loyalty, which turns card payments into stamps and points with no scanning at the till. sumup.com
  • Mar 2026LaunchUK: added free Making Tax Digital income tax filing for sole traders inside SumUp, built with Sage. sumup.com

Picked from SumUp's own pages and the press, reviewed by us before publishing · checked weekly, last check Oct 26, 2026 · How we pick news

Why people pick it

  • No monthly fee on the free plan
  • Cheap hardware

Where it falls short

  • Thin inventory and staff tools
  • High keyed-in rate

Alternatives in point of sale

Are you SumUp? Feature SumUp at the top of point of sale, or sponsor it in search and the quiz, from $99 a month. You can also manage its links or correct the listing.