Square POS

Block

Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing

Square is the default first POS for small retailers and cafés. The software is free; you pay per transaction. Hardware starts with a free magstripe reader and goes up to full registers.

Free tierUnlimitedUS · UK · CA · AU
Image from squareup.com

Cost at your size

Monthly card sales

On $10,000 of card sales a month: $320 a month with card fees, at a $25 average sale.

Square POS costs the same as the median point of sale tool for $10,000 of monthly card sales ($320).

Change assumptions

Card fees at US rates. Figures from the vendor's published prices. How we calculate prices

What Square POS connects to

Accounting tools in our catalog · found on vendor and marketplace pages, October 2026 · 7 of 7 checked by us

Has a Zapier app

Sources

Getting help with Square POS

How to reach them
  • Phone (US): every plan · 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days on Square Free only; 6am–6pm PT M–F on Square Plus only; 24/7 on Square Premium only
  • Live chat: plans not stated
  • Email: plans not stated
  • Community forum: every plan
  • Help center: every plan
Onboarding
  • Square Pro (custom pricing, over $250,000/yr) can ask about onboarding and implementation support and account management (Square Pro only)

14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page

A vendor that posts every small issue can show more incidents than one that posts few, so a low count doesn't prove fewer problems.

From Block's support and pricing pages, October 2026 · checked by us 2026-10-14 · How we gather this

Sources

What reviewers say about Square POS

Each site has its own reviewers, so we show the scores side by side and never average them. App ratings cover the mobile app only. Scores read Oct 28, 2026. How we show reviews

Recent changes at Square POS

  • May 2026LaunchAdded drive-thru ordering support for quick-service restaurants. squareup.com
  • Feb 2026LaunchReleased a second-generation Square Register with faster hardware. squareup.com

Picked from Block's own pages and the press, reviewed by us before publishing · checked weekly, last check Oct 26, 2026 · How we pick news

Why people pick it

  • No monthly fee on the free plan
  • Hardware and software from one vendor
  • Deep accounting integrations

Where it falls short

  • Processing fees add up at higher volume
  • Account holds are a common complaint

Alternatives in point of sale

Are you Block? Feature Square POS at the top of point of sale, or sponsor it in search and the quiz, from $99 a month. You can also manage its links or correct the listing.