SumUp vs Lightspeed Restaurant
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less for a six-person team.
SumUp fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
Lightspeed Restaurant fits restaurant or café.
Lightspeed Restaurant suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | Restaurant POS with floor plans, online ordering, and order-at-table |
| Starting price | Free | From $69/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $69/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | Rates by quote |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | Starter $69/mo; Essential $189/mo; Premium $399/mo; kitchen display $30/screen/mo; prices can vary by business |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited staff |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | 32 incidents posted on Lightspeed's status page, which covers all Lightspeed products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 9 marked major or critical by Lightspeed. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | 4.4 / 5 from 216 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 15 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 92 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 10 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 5 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit Lightspeed Restaurant | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or Lightspeed Restaurant
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantToast vs SumUpToast vs Lightspeed RestaurantShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopperLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimLightspeed Restaurant vs LoyverseLightspeed Restaurant vs KORONA POSLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverLightspeed Restaurant vs SpotOnLightspeed Restaurant vs TouchBistroLightspeed Restaurant vs eHopper