Square POS vs SumUp
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.Square POS fits retail shop, restaurant or café, online store.
SumUp fits trades or contractor.Square POS suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $320/mo | $300/mo |
| Plans | Free $0/mo: 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, dip, or swipe; Plus $49/mo per location: 2.5% + 15¢; Premium $149/mo per location: 2.4% + 15¢ | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | Zoho Books, Akaunting, Kashoo, ZipBooks, Bench | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated (UK) |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,039 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 95 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 85 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 20 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square POS | Visit SumUp | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square POS or SumUp
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSquare POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs LoyverseSquare POS vs KORONA POSSquare POS vs CloverSquare POS vs SpotOnSquare POS vs TouchBistroSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs SumUpShopify POS vs SumUpSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopper