Shopify POS vs SumUp
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
SumUp fits restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Shopify POS fits online store.
Shopify POS suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | In-person sales synced with your Shopify store | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers |
| Starting price | From $39/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | $39/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $339/mo | $300/mo |
| Plans | Included with Shopify Basic ($39/mo): in person 2.6% + 10¢; Grow $105/mo: 2.5% + 10¢; Advanced $399/mo: 2.4% + 10¢; POS Pro $89/mo per location; 2% fee with other payment providers on Basic | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ |
| Pricing model | Paid | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | Xero | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | QuickBooks Online |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK |
| Phone support | Plus only | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) |
| Live chat | Every paid plan | Plans not stated (UK) |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 · Phone: 24/7 | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Shopify's status page, which covers all Shopify products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 248 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 85 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 30 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 40 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 10 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 15 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 95 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Shopify POS | Visit SumUp | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
Shopify POS: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Shopify POS or SumUp
Square POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs SumUpToast vs Shopify POSToast vs SumUpShopify POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantShopify POS vs HelcimShopify POS vs LoyverseShopify POS vs KORONA POSShopify POS vs CloverShopify POS vs SpotOnShopify POS vs TouchBistroShopify POS vs eHopperSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopper