Toast vs SumUp
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
SumUp fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
Toast fits restaurant or café.
Toast suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Restaurant POS with kitchen displays and online ordering | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | Rates by quote | $300/mo |
| Plans | Starter kit $0/mo with higher processing (3.09% pay-as-you-go); Point of Sale plan from $69/mo with custom-built rates | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Xero |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · CA · UK | US · UK |
| Phone support | Every plan | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated (UK) |
| Support hours | Phone: 24/7/365 · Live chat: 24/7/365 | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. |
| Incidents posted | 15 incidents posted on Toast Inc's status page, which covers all Toast Inc products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 9 marked major or critical by Toast Inc. Status page | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.1 / 5 from 554 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | 2.6 / 5 from 1,504 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 20 | 78 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 96 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 10 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 5 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 5 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 10 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Toast | Visit SumUp | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Toast or SumUp
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs SumUpToast vs Shopify POSToast vs Lightspeed RestaurantToast vs HelcimToast vs LoyverseToast vs KORONA POSToast vs CloverToast vs SpotOnToast vs TouchBistroToast vs eHopperShopify POS vs SumUpSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopper