Square POS vs Lightspeed Restaurant
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square POS costs less for a six-person team.
Square POS fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
Lightspeed Restaurant: Online ordering and pay at table on every plan.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing | Restaurant POS with floor plans, online ordering, and order-at-table |
| Starting price | Free | From $69/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $69/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $320/mo | Rates by quote |
| Plans | Free $0/mo: 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, dip, or swipe; Plus $49/mo per location: 2.5% + 15¢; Premium $149/mo per location: 2.4% + 15¢ | Starter $69/mo; Essential $189/mo; Premium $399/mo; kitchen display $30/screen/mo; prices can vary by business |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited staff |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | Zoho Books, Akaunting, Kashoo, ZipBooks, Bench | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | 32 incidents posted on Lightspeed's status page, which covers all Lightspeed products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 9 marked major or critical by Lightspeed. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,039 reviews | 4.4 / 5 from 216 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 95 | 15 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 85 | 92 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 10 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 20 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 5 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square POS | Visit Lightspeed Restaurant | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square POS or Lightspeed Restaurant
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs LoyverseSquare POS vs KORONA POSSquare POS vs CloverSquare POS vs SpotOnSquare POS vs TouchBistroSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs Lightspeed RestaurantShopify POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimLightspeed Restaurant vs LoyverseLightspeed Restaurant vs KORONA POSLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverLightspeed Restaurant vs SpotOnLightspeed Restaurant vs TouchBistroLightspeed Restaurant vs eHopper