Gusto vs Deel
Two payroll & HR tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Gusto costs less for a six-person team.
Gusto fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor, online store.
Deel: Global compliance handled.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Payroll, benefits, and onboarding for small teams | Contractors and employees in 150 countries |
| Starting price | From $49/mo + $7/person | From $49/person |
| Six-person team | $91/mo | $294/mo |
| Plans | Simple $49/mo + $7 per person; Plus $99/mo + $12 per person; Premium $179/mo + $22 per person; no yearly price shown | Contractors $49 per contractor per month; contractor of record $325 per contractor per month; US PEO $125 per employee per month; EOR $599 per employee per month |
| Pricing model | Paid | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Per person | Per person |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | FreshBooks, Homebase Scheduling, Jobber, Connecteam, Buddy Punch, When I Work, ZipBooks, Bench +2 more | Puzzle200+ listed by the vendor |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Not looked up yet | Not looked up yet |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 0 incidents posted on Gusto's status page, which covers all Gusto products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page | Deel has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 4,230 reviews | 4.9 / 5 from 4,314 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 2,550 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 9,733 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 90 | 10 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 5 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 92 | 85 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 10 |
| Fit: Online store | 85 | 60 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Gusto | Visit Deel | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Gusto and Deel: partner links. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Gusto or Deel
Gusto vs RipplingGusto vs HomebaseGusto vs QuickBooks PayrollGusto vs OnPayGusto vs Patriot PayrollGusto vs Roll by ADPGusto vs Square PayrollGusto vs Wave PayrollGusto vs Payroll4FreeGusto vs Payoneer Workforce ManagementRippling vs DeelHomebase vs DeelDeel vs QuickBooks PayrollDeel vs OnPayDeel vs Patriot PayrollDeel vs Roll by ADPDeel vs Square PayrollDeel vs Wave PayrollDeel vs Payroll4FreeDeel vs Payoneer Workforce Management