Hootsuite vs Sprout Social
Two social media tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Sprout Social costs less for a six-person team.
Sprout Social fits service business, online store.
Hootsuite: Listening and reporting.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Scheduling, listening, and reporting for larger teams | Publishing, inbox, and reporting for teams that run social as a channel |
| Starting price | From $99/mo | From $79/person |
| Six-person team | $99/mo | $79/mo |
| Plans | Standard $99/mo (10 social accounts); Professional $199/mo; Advanced up to $399/mo, billed annually | Per seat, billed yearly: Essentials $79 (5 profiles); Standard $199; Professional $299; Advanced $399. Monthly billing $99/$249/$399/$499 |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 14 days | 30 days |
| Users | 1 on Standard | Per seat |
| Integrations | All major networks, Canva, 100+ apps | Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn, TikTok, X, YouTube, Pinterest, Google Business Profile, Salesforce, HubSpot, Zendesk |
| Team size | 11–50 people · 51–200 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Every paid plan |
| Support hours | Web form: Monday to Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm (PST, CST, EST, EET, CET), Monday to Friday 9:00 am - 4:00 pm AEDT | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 9 incidents posted on Hootsuite's status page, which covers all Hootsuite products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Hootsuite. Status page | 7 incidents posted on Sprout Social's status page, which covers all Sprout Social products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Sprout Social. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 3,804 reviews | 4.4 / 5 from 609 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.3 / 5 from 556 reviews | 1.8 / 5 from 88 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 55 | 60 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 55 |
| Fit: Service business | 55 | 70 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 88 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 35 | 35 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 75 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Hootsuite | Visit Sprout Social |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Hootsuite or Sprout Social
Buffer vs HootsuiteBuffer vs Sprout SocialLater vs HootsuiteLater vs Sprout SocialHootsuite vs MetricoolHootsuite vs Vista SocialHootsuite vs RestreamHootsuite vs SocialBeeHootsuite vs AgorapulseHootsuite vs PlanolyHootsuite vs LoomlyHootsuite vs SendibleHootsuite vs Zoho SocialHootsuite vs ManychatHootsuite vs AdCreative.aiMetricool vs Sprout SocialVista Social vs Sprout SocialRestream vs Sprout SocialSprout Social vs SocialBeeSprout Social vs AgorapulseSprout Social vs PlanolySprout Social vs LoomlySprout Social vs SendibleSprout Social vs Zoho SocialSprout Social vs ManychatSprout Social vs AdCreative.ai