Justworks vs Checkr
Two HR & compliance tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Checkr fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
Justworks fits agency or studio, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | A PEO: payroll, benefits, and compliance under one umbrella | Pay-as-you-go background checks for new hires |
| Starting price | From $79/person | From $29.99/report |
| Six-person team | $474/mo | From $29.99/report |
| Plans | Per employee per month: Payroll $8 + $50/mo base fee; PEO Basic $79; PEO Plus $124; EOR $599; PEO needs 2+ W-2 employees; no implementation fee | No monthly fee; Basic from $29.99 per report; Essential from $59.99; Complete from $94.99; court and database fees passed through at cost |
| Pricing model | Paid | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Per employee | Unlimited |
| Integrations | QuickBooks, Xero, Slack, Greenhouse | Gusto, Rippling, BambooHR, Breezy, Workable, 100+ |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people |
| Available in | US | US · CA |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Live chat: 24/7 (PEO) (Justworks PEO only) · Email: 24/7 (PEO) (Justworks PEO only) · Phone: 24/7 (PEO) (Justworks PEO only) | Web form: Customer support Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. ET (United States) |
| Incidents posted | 9 incidents posted on Justworks's status page, which covers all Justworks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by Justworks. Status page | 11 incidents posted on Checkr's status page, which covers all Checkr products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 3 marked major or critical by Checkr. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 741 reviews | Not listed |
| Trustpilot score | 2.3 / 5 from 38 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 50 | 65 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 45 | 65 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 80 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 90 | 55 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 55 | 85 |
| Fit: Online store | 75 | 40 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Justworks | Visit Checkr |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Checkr: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Justworks or Checkr
BambooHR vs JustworksBambooHR vs CheckrJustworks vs Homebase HR & ComplianceJustworks vs DeputyJustworks vs Breezy HRJustworks vs TrainualJustworks vs WorkableJustworks vs JazzHRJustworks vs LatticeJustworks vs 15FiveHomebase HR & Compliance vs CheckrDeputy vs CheckrBreezy HR vs CheckrCheckr vs TrainualCheckr vs WorkableCheckr vs JazzHRCheckr vs LatticeCheckr vs 15Five