Insurance Canopy vs The Hartford

Two business insurance tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Insurance Canopy costs less for a six-person team.
  • The Hartford fits retail shop, restaurant or café, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
  • The Hartford suits teams past ten people.
CompareInsurance CanopyInsurance CanopyThe HartfordThe Hartford
In one lineLiability cover for solo service pros, priced online by tradeSmall business liability and workers' comp from a long-standing insurer
Starting priceFrom $10/moFrom $67.50/mo
Six-person team$10/mo$67.50/mo
PlansStarting prices by trade: beauty $10/mo or $96/yr; consultants $21/mo or $229/yr; cleaning $39/mo or $425/yr; additional insureds and tools cover cost extraGeneral liability averages about $68/mo ($810/yr) for its small business customers; a $1M policy averages about $69/mo; price depends on state, trade, and limits
Pricing modelPaidPaid
Free trial——
Usersn/an/a
IntegrationsInstant certificates of insurance onlineNone needed
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUSUS
Phone supportPlans not statedPlans not stated
Live chatNone listedNone listed
Support hoursPhone: Monday–Friday 8:00 am–8:00 pm Eastern TimePhone: M-F: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET
Incidents postedWe found no public status page for Insurance Canopy.We found no public status page for The Hartford.
Trustpilot scoreNot listed1.2 / 5 from 506 reviews
Fit: Retail shop4575
Fit: Restaurant or café4072
Fit: Service business8880
Fit: Agency or studio6075
Fit: Trades or contractor7080
Fit: Online store4565
Why people pick it
  • Published prices, monthly or yearly
  • Certificate issued instantly
  • Large, established carrier
  • Bundles liability and workers' comp
Where it falls short
  • Price depends on your trade
  • Not every trade in every state
  • Final price needs a quote
  • Not the cheapest online
Visit Insurance Canopy Visit The Hartford

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Insurance Canopy or The Hartford

Every business insurance comparison