Thimble vs The Hartford

Two business insurance tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • The Hartford fits retail shop, restaurant or café, agency or studio, online store.
  • The Hartford suits teams past ten people.
  • Thimble: Pay only when working.
CompareThimbleThimbleThe HartfordThe Hartford
In one lineShort-term and monthly liability cover by the jobSmall business liability and workers' comp from a long-standing insurer
Starting pricePrice by quoteFrom $67.50/mo
Six-person teamPrice by quote$67.50/mo
PlansGeneral liability by the hour, day, or month; thimble.com shows a price only after a quoteGeneral liability averages about $68/mo ($810/yr) for its small business customers; a $1M policy averages about $69/mo; price depends on state, trade, and limits
Pricing modelPaidPaid
Free trial——
Usersn/an/a
IntegrationsStandaloneNone needed
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUSUS
Phone supportNot looked up yetPlans not stated
Live chatPlans not statedNone listed
Support hoursNot publishedPhone: M-F: 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. ET
Incidents postedWe found no public status page for Thimble.We found no public status page for The Hartford.
Trustpilot score4.1 / 5 from 2,376 reviews1.2 / 5 from 506 reviews
Fit: Retail shop4075
Fit: Restaurant or café4572
Fit: Service business8080
Fit: Agency or studio5575
Fit: Trades or contractor8580
Fit: Online store3065
Why people pick it
  • Pay only when working
  • Instant certificates
  • Large, established carrier
  • Bundles liability and workers' comp
Where it falls short
  • Not for workers' comp
  • Limited to lower-risk trades
  • Final price needs a quote
  • Not the cheapest online
Visit Thimble Visit The Hartford

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Thimble or The Hartford

Every business insurance comparison