HoneyBook vs Bonsai
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Bonsai costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
HoneyBook fits restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Proposals, contracts, invoices, and payments for client services | Proposals, contracts, time tracking, and invoices for freelancers |
| Starting price | From $29/mo | From $19/person |
| Six-person team | $29/mo | $114/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $324/mo | $315/mo |
| Plans | Starter $29/mo; Essentials $49/mo (2 team members); Premium $109/mo (unlimited), billed yearly; card payments 2.9% + 25¢ (the pricing page also says from 2.7% + 10¢), ACH 1.5% | Basic $9/user/mo has no invoices or payments; Essentials $19/user/mo is the cheapest with invoicing; Premium $29; Elite $49 (3-user minimum), billed annually (monthly $15/$25/$39/$59); payments 2.9% + 30¢, 1% extra with Stripe or PayPal |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 30 days | 7 days |
| Users | 1 on Starter; 2 on Essentials | Per user |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Xero |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon–Fri 4:00 am–8:00 pm PT; Sat–Sun 8:00 am–5:00 pm PT | Email: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | HoneyBook has a public status page. Status page | Bonsai has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 692 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 95 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.0 / 5 from 750 reviews | 4.3 / 5 from 641 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 15 | 10 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 82 | 88 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 55 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 10 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit HoneyBook | Visit Bonsai | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with HoneyBook or Bonsai
Stripe Invoicing vs HoneyBookStripe Invoicing vs BonsaiSquare Invoices vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs BonsaiInvoice Ninja vs HoneyBookInvoice Ninja vs BonsaiBILL vs HoneyBookBILL vs BonsaiZoho Invoice vs HoneyBookZoho Invoice vs BonsaiPayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs BonsaiHoneyBook vs MelioHoneyBook vs JoistHoneyBook vs HarvestHoneyBook vs Invoice2goHoneyBook vs eBillityBonsai vs MelioBonsai vs JoistBonsai vs HarvestBonsai vs Invoice2goBonsai vs eBillity