PayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBook
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
PayPal Invoicing costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
PayPal Invoicing fits retail shop, trades or contractor, online store.
HoneyBook fits service business.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Invoices clients can pay with PayPal, Venmo, or card | Proposals, contracts, invoices, and payments for client services |
| Starting price | Free | From $29/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $29/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $309/mo | $324/mo |
| Plans | No monthly fee; PayPal or Venmo 3.49% + 49¢; cards 2.99% + 49¢; +1.5% international | Starter $29/mo; Essentials $49/mo (2 team members); Premium $109/mo (unlimited), billed yearly; card payments 2.9% + 25¢ (the pricing page also says from 2.7% + 10¢), ACH 1.5% |
| Pricing model | Free | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | Unlimited | 1 on Starter; 2 on Essentials |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero, Zoho Books, Akaunting, ZipBooks | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Live chat: Mon–Fri 4:00 am–8:00 pm PT; Sat–Sun 8:00 am–5:00 pm PT |
| Incidents posted | PayPal has a public status page. Status page | HoneyBook has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 595 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 692 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.0 / 5 from 750 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 35 | 15 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 20 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 92 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 75 | 82 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 75 | 55 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit PayPal Invoicing | Visit HoneyBook | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with PayPal Invoicing or HoneyBook
Stripe Invoicing vs PayPal InvoicingStripe Invoicing vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs PayPal InvoicingSquare Invoices vs HoneyBookInvoice Ninja vs PayPal InvoicingInvoice Ninja vs HoneyBookBILL vs PayPal InvoicingBILL vs HoneyBookZoho Invoice vs PayPal InvoicingZoho Invoice vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs BonsaiPayPal Invoicing vs MelioPayPal Invoicing vs JoistPayPal Invoicing vs HarvestPayPal Invoicing vs Invoice2goPayPal Invoicing vs eBillityHoneyBook vs BonsaiHoneyBook vs MelioHoneyBook vs JoistHoneyBook vs HarvestHoneyBook vs Invoice2goHoneyBook vs eBillity