PayPal Invoicing vs Bonsai
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
PayPal Invoicing costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
PayPal Invoicing fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor, online store.
Bonsai fits agency or studio.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Invoices clients can pay with PayPal, Venmo, or card | Proposals, contracts, time tracking, and invoices for freelancers |
| Starting price | Free | From $19/person |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $114/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $309/mo | $315/mo |
| Plans | No monthly fee; PayPal or Venmo 3.49% + 49¢; cards 2.99% + 49¢; +1.5% international | Basic $9/user/mo has no invoices or payments; Essentials $19/user/mo is the cheapest with invoicing; Premium $29; Elite $49 (3-user minimum), billed annually (monthly $15/$25/$39/$59); payments 2.9% + 30¢, 1% extra with Stripe or PayPal |
| Pricing model | Free | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 7 days |
| Users | Unlimited | Per user |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | Zoho Books, Akaunting, ZipBooks | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Email: 24/7 |
| Incidents posted | PayPal has a public status page. Status page | Bonsai has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 595 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 95 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.3 / 5 from 641 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 35 | 10 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 20 | 5 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 75 | 88 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 75 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit PayPal Invoicing | Visit Bonsai | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with PayPal Invoicing or Bonsai
Stripe Invoicing vs PayPal InvoicingStripe Invoicing vs BonsaiSquare Invoices vs PayPal InvoicingSquare Invoices vs BonsaiInvoice Ninja vs PayPal InvoicingInvoice Ninja vs BonsaiBILL vs PayPal InvoicingBILL vs BonsaiZoho Invoice vs PayPal InvoicingZoho Invoice vs BonsaiPayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs MelioPayPal Invoicing vs JoistPayPal Invoicing vs HarvestPayPal Invoicing vs Invoice2goPayPal Invoicing vs eBillityHoneyBook vs BonsaiBonsai vs MelioBonsai vs JoistBonsai vs HarvestBonsai vs Invoice2goBonsai vs eBillity