Bonsai vs Joist

Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Bonsai costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
  • Bonsai fits service business, agency or studio.
  • Joist fits trades or contractor.
CompareBonsaiBonsaiJoistJoist
In one lineProposals, contracts, time tracking, and invoices for freelancersEstimates and invoices from your phone, built for contractors
Starting priceFrom $19/personFrom $8.34/mo
Six-person team$114/mo$8.34/mo
On $10,000 of card sales$315/mo$367/mo
PlansBasic $9/user/mo has no invoices or payments; Essentials $19/user/mo is the cheapest with invoicing; Premium $29; Elite $49 (3-user minimum), billed annually (monthly $15/$25/$39/$59); payments 2.9% + 30¢, 1% extra with Stripe or PayPalBilled yearly: Basics $8.34/mo (5 documents/mo); Pro $14.17 (unlimited); Elite $26.67; Run $58.33 introductory. Monthly $10/$17/$32. Cards 3.49% + 49¢, ACH 1% capped at $15
Pricing modelFree trialFree trial
Free trial7 days14 days
UsersPer userSolo and small crews
Both connect toQuickBooks Online
Also connects toXeroNo others on record
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 peopleJust me · 2–10 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · CA
Phone supportNone listedNone listed
Live chatPlans not statedPlans not stated
Support hoursEmail: 24/7Not published
Incidents postedBonsai has a public status page. Status pageWe found no public status page for Joist.
Capterra score4.6 / 5 from 95 reviews4.2 / 5 from 90 reviews
Trustpilot score4.3 / 5 from 641 reviews4.5 / 5 from 76 reviews
Fit: Retail shop1010
Fit: Restaurant or café55
Fit: Service business8555
Fit: Agency or studio8810
Fit: Trades or contractor4595
Fit: Online store105
Why people pick it
  • Contracts and time tracking included
  • Cheap entry plan
  • Estimate to invoice to payment from a phone
  • Cheap entry plan
Where it falls short
  • Per-user pricing for teams
  • Short 7-day trial
  • Basics caps you at 5 documents a month
  • Card fees of 3.49% + 49¢
Visit Bonsai Visit Joist

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Bonsai or Joist

Every invoicing & payments comparison