HoneyBook vs Joist
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
HoneyBook costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
HoneyBook fits restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio.
Joist fits trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Proposals, contracts, invoices, and payments for client services | Estimates and invoices from your phone, built for contractors |
| Starting price | From $29/mo | From $8.34/mo |
| Six-person team | $29/mo | $8.34/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $324/mo | $367/mo |
| Plans | Starter $29/mo; Essentials $49/mo (2 team members); Premium $109/mo (unlimited), billed yearly; card payments 2.9% + 25¢ (the pricing page also says from 2.7% + 10¢), ACH 1.5% | Billed yearly: Basics $8.34/mo (5 documents/mo); Pro $14.17 (unlimited); Elite $26.67; Run $58.33 introductory. Monthly $10/$17/$32. Cards 3.49% + 49¢, ACH 1% capped at $15 |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 30 days | 14 days |
| Users | 1 on Starter; 2 on Essentials | Solo and small crews |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · CA |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon–Fri 4:00 am–8:00 pm PT; Sat–Sun 8:00 am–5:00 pm PT | Not published |
| Incidents posted | HoneyBook has a public status page. Status page | We found no public status page for Joist. |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 692 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 90 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.0 / 5 from 750 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 76 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 15 | 10 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 5 |
| Fit: Service business | 92 | 55 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 82 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 55 | 95 |
| Fit: Online store | 10 | 5 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit HoneyBook | Visit Joist | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with HoneyBook or Joist
Stripe Invoicing vs HoneyBookStripe Invoicing vs JoistSquare Invoices vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs JoistInvoice Ninja vs HoneyBookInvoice Ninja vs JoistBILL vs HoneyBookBILL vs JoistZoho Invoice vs HoneyBookZoho Invoice vs JoistPayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs JoistHoneyBook vs BonsaiHoneyBook vs MelioHoneyBook vs HarvestHoneyBook vs Invoice2goHoneyBook vs eBillityBonsai vs JoistMelio vs JoistJoist vs HarvestJoist vs Invoice2goJoist vs eBillity