Square Invoices vs HoneyBook
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
HoneyBook costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.Square Invoices fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor, online store.
HoneyBook fits agency or studio.Square Invoices suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free invoicing that shares a ledger with Square POS | Proposals, contracts, invoices, and payments for client services |
| Starting price | Free | From $29/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $29/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $336/mo | $324/mo |
| Plans | Square Free $0/mo: invoice card payments 3.3% + 30¢, ACH 1% ($1 min); Square Plus $49/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢; Square Premium $149/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢ | Starter $29/mo; Essentials $49/mo (2 team members); Premium $109/mo (unlimited), billed yearly; card payments 2.9% + 25¢ (the pricing page also says from 2.7% + 10¢), ACH 1.5% |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | Unlimited | 1 on Starter; 2 on Essentials |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Live chat: Mon–Fri 4:00 am–8:00 pm PT; Sat–Sun 8:00 am–5:00 pm PT |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | HoneyBook has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 123 reviews | 4.7 / 5 from 692 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.0 / 5 from 750 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 85 | 15 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 70 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 92 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 60 | 82 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 55 |
| Fit: Online store | 40 | 10 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square Invoices | Visit HoneyBook | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square Invoices or HoneyBook
Stripe Invoicing vs Square InvoicesStripe Invoicing vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs Invoice NinjaSquare Invoices vs BILLSquare Invoices vs Zoho InvoiceSquare Invoices vs PayPal InvoicingSquare Invoices vs BonsaiSquare Invoices vs MelioSquare Invoices vs JoistSquare Invoices vs HarvestSquare Invoices vs Invoice2goSquare Invoices vs eBillityInvoice Ninja vs HoneyBookBILL vs HoneyBookZoho Invoice vs HoneyBookPayPal Invoicing vs HoneyBookHoneyBook vs BonsaiHoneyBook vs MelioHoneyBook vs JoistHoneyBook vs HarvestHoneyBook vs Invoice2goHoneyBook vs eBillity