Square Invoices vs Bonsai

Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Bonsai costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
  • Square Invoices fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor, online store.
  • Bonsai fits agency or studio.
  • Square Invoices suits teams past ten people.
CompareSquare InvoicesBlockBonsaiBonsai
In one lineFree invoicing that shares a ledger with Square POSProposals, contracts, time tracking, and invoices for freelancers
Starting priceFreeFrom $19/person
Six-person team$0/mo$114/mo
On $10,000 of card sales$336/mo$315/mo
PlansSquare Free $0/mo: invoice card payments 3.3% + 30¢, ACH 1% ($1 min); Square Plus $49/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢; Square Premium $149/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢Basic $9/user/mo has no invoices or payments; Essentials $19/user/mo is the cheapest with invoicing; Premium $29; Elite $49 (3-user minimum), billed annually (monthly $15/$25/$39/$59); payments 2.9% + 30¢, 1% extra with Stripe or PayPal
Pricing modelFree tierFree trial
Free trial—7 days
UsersUnlimitedPer user
Both connect toQuickBooks Online, Xero
Also connects toNo others on recordNo others on record
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 peopleJust me · 2–10 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK · CA · AU
Phone supportEvery plan (US)None listed
Live chatPlans not statedPlans not stated
Support hoursPhone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only)Email: 24/7
Incidents posted14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status pageBonsai has a public status page. Status page
Capterra score4.7 / 5 from 123 reviews4.6 / 5 from 95 reviews
Trustpilot scoreNot listed4.3 / 5 from 641 reviews
Fit: Retail shop8510
Fit: Restaurant or café705
Fit: Service business8585
Fit: Agency or studio6088
Fit: Trades or contractor8545
Fit: Online store4010
Why people pick it
  • Free plan is complete
  • One customer list with POS
  • Contracts and time tracking included
  • Cheap entry plan
Where it falls short
  • Higher card rate than Stripe
  • Weak for recurring billing
  • Per-user pricing for teams
  • Short 7-day trial
Visit Square Invoices Visit Bonsai

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Square Invoices or Bonsai

Every invoicing & payments comparison