Bluevine vs Grasshopper Bank

Two banking tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Bluevine fits retail shop, restaurant or café, trades or contractor.
  • Grasshopper Bank fits agency or studio.
CompareBluevineBluevineGrasshopper BankGrasshopper Bank, N.A.
In one lineInterest-bearing business checking with a line of creditChartered digital bank with free checking that pays interest
Starting priceFreeFree
Six-person team$0/mo$0/mo
PlansStandard free; Plus $30/mo; Premier $95/moNo monthly fee; $100 to open; ACH and incoming wires free; outgoing wires $5 domestic, $25 international; checking earns variable interest
Pricing modelFreeFree
Free trial——
UsersUnlimitedMultiple, with approval rules
Both connect toQuickBooks Online
Also connects toXeroNo others on record
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 peopleJust me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUSUS
Phone supportPlans not statedPlans not stated
Live chatPlans not statedNone listed
Support hoursNot publishedPhone: M-F 9am-9pm ET
Incidents postedWe found no public status page for Bluevine.We found no public status page for Grasshopper Bank, N.A..
Trustpilot score4.7 / 5 from 11,737 reviews4.1 / 5 from 471 reviews
Fit: Retail shop7055
Fit: Restaurant or café6545
Fit: Service business7580
Fit: Agency or studio6080
Fit: Trades or contractor8060
Fit: Online store6572
Why people pick it
  • Interest on checking
  • Credit line available
  • Checking that pays interest
  • A chartered bank, not a fintech layer
Where it falls short
  • Interest needs activity thresholds
  • Outgoing wires cost $10 domestic, $25 international
  • Cash deposits only at select MoneyPass ATMs
Visit Bluevine Visit Grasshopper Bank

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with Bluevine or Grasshopper Bank

Every banking comparison