PayPal Invoicing vs Joist

Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • PayPal Invoicing costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
  • PayPal Invoicing fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, online store.
  • Joist fits trades or contractor.
ComparePayPal InvoicingPayPalJoistJoist
In one lineInvoices clients can pay with PayPal, Venmo, or cardEstimates and invoices from your phone, built for contractors
Starting priceFreeFrom $8.34/mo
Six-person team$0/mo$8.34/mo
On $10,000 of card sales$309/mo$367/mo
PlansNo monthly fee; PayPal or Venmo 3.49% + 49¢; cards 2.99% + 49¢; +1.5% internationalBilled yearly: Basics $8.34/mo (5 documents/mo); Pro $14.17 (unlimited); Elite $26.67; Run $58.33 introductory. Monthly $10/$17/$32. Cards 3.49% + 49¢, ACH 1% capped at $15
Pricing modelFreeFree trial
Free trial—14 days
UsersUnlimitedSolo and small crews
Both connect toQuickBooks Online
Also connects toXero, Zoho Books, Akaunting, ZipBooksNo others on record
Team sizeJust me · 2–10 peopleJust me · 2–10 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · CA
Phone supportPlans not statedNone listed
Live chatEvery planPlans not stated
Support hoursNot publishedNot published
Incidents postedPayPal has a public status page. Status pageWe found no public status page for Joist.
Capterra score4.7 / 5 from 595 reviews4.2 / 5 from 90 reviews
Trustpilot scoreNot listed4.5 / 5 from 76 reviews
Fit: Retail shop3510
Fit: Restaurant or café205
Fit: Service business8055
Fit: Agency or studio7510
Fit: Trades or contractor7595
Fit: Online store605
Why people pick it
  • Clients trust and already use PayPal
  • No monthly fee
  • Estimate to invoice to payment from a phone
  • Cheap entry plan
Where it falls short
  • Higher fees than Stripe or Square
  • Account holds are a known risk
  • Basics caps you at 5 documents a month
  • Card fees of 3.49% + 49¢
Visit PayPal Invoicing Visit Joist

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices

More comparisons with PayPal Invoicing or Joist

Every invoicing & payments comparison