Square Invoices vs Joist
Two invoicing & payments tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square Invoices costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
Square Invoices fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, online store.
Joist fits trades or contractor.Square Invoices suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free invoicing that shares a ledger with Square POS | Estimates and invoices from your phone, built for contractors |
| Starting price | Free | From $8.34/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $8.34/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $336/mo | $367/mo |
| Plans | Square Free $0/mo: invoice card payments 3.3% + 30¢, ACH 1% ($1 min); Square Plus $49/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢; Square Premium $149/mo per location: 2.9% + 30¢ | Billed yearly: Basics $8.34/mo (5 documents/mo); Pro $14.17 (unlimited); Elite $26.67; Run $58.33 introductory. Monthly $10/$17/$32. Cards 3.49% + 49¢, ACH 1% capped at $15 |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 14 days |
| Users | Unlimited | Solo and small crews |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · CA |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | We found no public status page for Joist. |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 123 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 90 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.5 / 5 from 76 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 85 | 10 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 70 | 5 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 55 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 60 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 85 | 95 |
| Fit: Online store | 40 | 5 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square Invoices | Visit Joist | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $500 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square Invoices or Joist
Stripe Invoicing vs Square InvoicesStripe Invoicing vs JoistSquare Invoices vs Invoice NinjaSquare Invoices vs BILLSquare Invoices vs Zoho InvoiceSquare Invoices vs PayPal InvoicingSquare Invoices vs HoneyBookSquare Invoices vs BonsaiSquare Invoices vs MelioSquare Invoices vs HarvestSquare Invoices vs Invoice2goSquare Invoices vs eBillityInvoice Ninja vs JoistBILL vs JoistZoho Invoice vs JoistPayPal Invoicing vs JoistHoneyBook vs JoistBonsai vs JoistMelio vs JoistJoist vs HarvestJoist vs Invoice2goJoist vs eBillity