Puzzle vs ZipBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
ZipBooks costs less for a six-person team.
ZipBooks fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Puzzle fits online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Accounting for startups that live in Stripe and a neobank | Free invoicing and books, with paid plans for small teams |
| Starting price | From $30/mo | Free for 1 user |
| Six-person team | $30/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Starter $30/mo monthly or $24/mo billed yearly (1 seat); Core $72/mo monthly or $58/mo billed yearly (5 seats); Complete $120/mo (unlimited seats); Scale $360/mo | Starter free (unlimited invoices, 1 bank account); Smarter $15/mo (5 team members, recurring invoices, time tracking); Sophisticated $35/mo (unlimited users, reconciliation); billed monthly |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 60 days | 30 days |
| Users | 1 on Starter; 5 on Core | 1 on Starter; 5 on Smarter |
| Both connect to | Stripe Invoicing | |
| Also connects to | Rippling, Deel, Mercury, BILL, Ramp, Brex, Rho | Square POS, Gusto, PayPal Invoicing |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Not published | Live chat: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm MT |
| Incidents posted | We found no public status page for Puzzle. | We found no public status page for ZipBooks. |
| Capterra score | See reviews on Capterra | 4.5 / 5 from 115 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.2 / 5 from 1 reviews (few reviews) | 3.5 / 5 from 3 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 25 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 45 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 82 | 75 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 30 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Puzzle | Visit ZipBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Puzzle or ZipBooks
QuickBooks Online vs PuzzleQuickBooks Online vs ZipBooksXero vs PuzzleXero vs ZipBooksWave vs PuzzleWave vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs PuzzleFreshBooks vs ZipBooksZoho Books vs PuzzleZoho Books vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs AkauntingPuzzle vs KashooPuzzle vs BenchPuzzle vs Patriot AccountingPuzzle vs KickPuzzle vs PilotAkaunting vs ZipBooksKashoo vs ZipBooksZipBooks vs BenchZipBooks vs Patriot AccountingZipBooks vs KickZipBooks vs Pilot