FreshBooks vs ZipBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
ZipBooks costs less for a six-person team.
FreshBooks fits agency or studio.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Invoicing and time tracking for service businesses | Free invoicing and books, with paid plans for small teams |
| Starting price | From $23/mo + $11/extra person | Free for 1 user |
| Six-person team | $23/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Lite $23/mo (5 clients); Plus $43/mo (50 clients); Premium $70/mo (unlimited clients); the same billed yearly; first-year discounts common (Lite was $1/mo for the first year when checked); team members $11/mo each | Starter free (unlimited invoices, 1 bank account); Smarter $15/mo (5 team members, recurring invoices, time tracking); Sophisticated $35/mo (unlimited users, reconciliation); billed monthly |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| Users | 1 included | 1 on Starter; 5 on Smarter |
| Both connect to | Gusto, Stripe Invoicing | |
| Also connects to | Squarespace Commerce, Novo, Ecwid, Payoneer Workforce Management100+ listed by the vendor | Square POS, PayPal Invoicing |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated; Select only | None listed |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: office hours · Live chat: 24/7 | Live chat: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm MT |
| Incidents posted | 4 incidents posted on FreshBooks's status page, which covers all FreshBooks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by FreshBooks. Status page | We found no public status page for ZipBooks. |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 4,529 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 115 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.8 / 5 from 1,051 reviews | 3.5 / 5 from 3 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 58 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 40 | 45 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 88 | 75 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 45 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit FreshBooks | Visit ZipBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
FreshBooks: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with FreshBooks or ZipBooks
QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooksQuickBooks Online vs ZipBooksXero vs FreshBooksXero vs ZipBooksWave vs FreshBooksWave vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs Zoho BooksFreshBooks vs PuzzleFreshBooks vs AkauntingFreshBooks vs KashooFreshBooks vs BenchFreshBooks vs Patriot AccountingFreshBooks vs KickFreshBooks vs PilotZoho Books vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs ZipBooksAkaunting vs ZipBooksKashoo vs ZipBooksZipBooks vs BenchZipBooks vs Patriot AccountingZipBooks vs KickZipBooks vs Pilot