Wave vs Puzzle
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Wave costs less for a six-person team.
Wave fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Puzzle fits agency or studio.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free double-entry accounting and invoicing | Accounting for startups that live in Stripe and a neobank |
| Starting price | Free | From $30/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $30/mo |
| Plans | Free (bank transactions entered by hand); Pro $19/mo or $190/yr adds automatic bank imports and receipt capture; cards 2.9% + 60¢ | Starter $30/mo monthly or $24/mo billed yearly (1 seat); Core $72/mo monthly or $58/mo billed yearly (5 seats); Complete $120/mo (unlimited seats); Scale $360/mo |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 60 days |
| Users | 1 on free plan | 1 on Starter; 5 on Core |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | Helcim, Shoeboxed, Wave Payroll, Wise Business15+ listed by the vendor | Rippling, Deel, Mercury, Stripe Invoicing, BILL, Ramp, Brex, Rho |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · CA | US |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern, Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 4:45 PM Eastern | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on H&R Block's status page, which covers all H&R Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by H&R Block. Status page | We found no public status page for Puzzle. |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 1,731 reviews | See reviews on Capterra |
| Trustpilot score | 3.1 / 5 from 558 reviews | 3.2 / 5 from 1 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 71 | 25 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 60 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 70 | 82 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 75 | 30 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Wave | Visit Puzzle | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Wave or Puzzle
QuickBooks Online vs WaveQuickBooks Online vs PuzzleXero vs WaveXero vs PuzzleWave vs FreshBooksWave vs Zoho BooksWave vs AkauntingWave vs KashooWave vs ZipBooksWave vs BenchWave vs Patriot AccountingWave vs KickWave vs PilotFreshBooks vs PuzzleZoho Books vs PuzzlePuzzle vs AkauntingPuzzle vs KashooPuzzle vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs BenchPuzzle vs Patriot AccountingPuzzle vs KickPuzzle vs Pilot