Wave vs ZipBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Wave fits retail shop, restaurant or café, online store.ZipBooks: Free plan with unlimited invoices.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free double-entry accounting and invoicing | Free invoicing and books, with paid plans for small teams |
| Starting price | Free | Free for 1 user |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Free (bank transactions entered by hand); Pro $19/mo or $190/yr adds automatic bank imports and receipt capture; cards 2.9% + 60¢ | Starter free (unlimited invoices, 1 bank account); Smarter $15/mo (5 team members, recurring invoices, time tracking); Sophisticated $35/mo (unlimited users, reconciliation); billed monthly |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | 1 on free plan | 1 on Starter; 5 on Smarter |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | Helcim, Shoeboxed, Wave Payroll, Wise Business15+ listed by the vendor | Square POS, Gusto, Stripe Invoicing, PayPal Invoicing |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · CA | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | None listed | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 5 PM Eastern, Monday to Friday from 9 AM to 4:45 PM Eastern | Live chat: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm MT |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on H&R Block's status page, which covers all H&R Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by H&R Block. Status page | We found no public status page for ZipBooks. |
| Capterra score | 4.4 / 5 from 1,731 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 115 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 3.1 / 5 from 558 reviews | 3.5 / 5 from 3 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 71 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 60 | 45 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 70 | 75 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 75 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Wave | Visit ZipBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Wave or ZipBooks
QuickBooks Online vs WaveQuickBooks Online vs ZipBooksXero vs WaveXero vs ZipBooksWave vs FreshBooksWave vs Zoho BooksWave vs PuzzleWave vs AkauntingWave vs KashooWave vs BenchWave vs Patriot AccountingWave vs KickWave vs PilotFreshBooks vs ZipBooksZoho Books vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs ZipBooksAkaunting vs ZipBooksKashoo vs ZipBooksZipBooks vs BenchZipBooks vs Patriot AccountingZipBooks vs KickZipBooks vs Pilot