FreshBooks vs Puzzle
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
FreshBooks costs less for a six-person team.
FreshBooks fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Puzzle fits online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Invoicing and time tracking for service businesses | Accounting for startups that live in Stripe and a neobank |
| Starting price | From $23/mo + $11/extra person | From $30/mo |
| Six-person team | $23/mo | $30/mo |
| Plans | Lite $23/mo (5 clients); Plus $43/mo (50 clients); Premium $70/mo (unlimited clients); the same billed yearly; first-year discounts common (Lite was $1/mo for the first year when checked); team members $11/mo each | Starter $30/mo monthly or $24/mo billed yearly (1 seat); Core $72/mo monthly or $58/mo billed yearly (5 seats); Complete $120/mo (unlimited seats); Scale $360/mo |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | 30 days | 60 days |
| Users | 1 included | 1 on Starter; 5 on Core |
| Both connect to | Stripe Invoicing | |
| Also connects to | Gusto, Squarespace Commerce, Novo, Ecwid, Payoneer Workforce Management100+ listed by the vendor | Rippling, Deel, Mercury, BILL, Ramp, Brex, Rho |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated; Select only | None listed |
| Live chat | Every plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: office hours · Live chat: 24/7 | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 4 incidents posted on FreshBooks's status page, which covers all FreshBooks products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by FreshBooks. Status page | We found no public status page for Puzzle. |
| Capterra score | 4.5 / 5 from 4,529 reviews | See reviews on Capterra |
| Trustpilot score | 3.8 / 5 from 1,051 reviews | 3.2 / 5 from 1 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 58 | 25 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 40 | 15 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 75 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 88 | 82 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 30 |
| Fit: Online store | 45 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit FreshBooks | Visit Puzzle | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
FreshBooks: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with FreshBooks or Puzzle
QuickBooks Online vs FreshBooksQuickBooks Online vs PuzzleXero vs FreshBooksXero vs PuzzleWave vs FreshBooksWave vs PuzzleFreshBooks vs Zoho BooksFreshBooks vs AkauntingFreshBooks vs KashooFreshBooks vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs BenchFreshBooks vs Patriot AccountingFreshBooks vs KickFreshBooks vs PilotZoho Books vs PuzzlePuzzle vs AkauntingPuzzle vs KashooPuzzle vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs BenchPuzzle vs Patriot AccountingPuzzle vs KickPuzzle vs Pilot