QuickBooks Online vs ZipBooks
Two accounting tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
ZipBooks costs less for a six-person team.
QuickBooks Online fits retail shop, restaurant or café, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
QuickBooks Online suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | The accounting software most US accountants already use | Free invoicing and books, with paid plans for small teams |
| Starting price | From $38/mo | Free for 1 user |
| Six-person team | $38/mo | $0/mo |
| Plans | Simple Start $38/mo (1 user); Essentials $85/mo (3 users); Plus $140/mo (5 users); Advanced up to 25 users; every plan adds 2 accountant logins; list prices, with promotions often cutting the first 3 months | Starter free (unlimited invoices, 1 bank account); Smarter $15/mo (5 team members, recurring invoices, time tracking); Sophisticated $35/mo (unlimited users, reconciliation); billed monthly |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | 30 days | 30 days |
| Users | 1–25 depending on plan | 1 on Starter; 5 on Smarter |
| Both connect to | Square POS, Gusto, Stripe Invoicing, PayPal Invoicing | |
| Also connects to | Toast, Rippling, Homebase, Deel, Shopify, Squarespace Commerce, Mercury, Relay +43 more800+ listed by the vendor | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US) | None listed |
| Live chat | Every paid plan | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon–Fri 6 AM–6 PM PT, Sat 6 AM–3 PM PT, Sun closed (Simple Start, Essentials, Plus), Mon–Fri 6 AM–7 PM PT, Sat–Sun 6 AM–3 PM PT (Advanced) · Phone: Monday- Friday 6am -6pm PST | Live chat: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm MT |
| Incidents posted | 5 incidents posted on Intuit's status page, which covers all Intuit products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Intuit. Status page | We found no public status page for ZipBooks. |
| Capterra score | 4.3 / 5 from 8,546 reviews | 4.5 / 5 from 115 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 3.5 / 5 from 3 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 92 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 88 | 45 |
| Fit: Service business | 90 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 75 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 92 | 72 |
| Fit: Online store | 80 | 45 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit QuickBooks Online | Visit ZipBooks | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
QuickBooks Online: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with QuickBooks Online or ZipBooks
QuickBooks Online vs XeroQuickBooks Online vs WaveQuickBooks Online vs FreshBooksQuickBooks Online vs Zoho BooksQuickBooks Online vs PuzzleQuickBooks Online vs AkauntingQuickBooks Online vs KashooQuickBooks Online vs BenchQuickBooks Online vs Patriot AccountingQuickBooks Online vs KickQuickBooks Online vs PilotXero vs ZipBooksWave vs ZipBooksFreshBooks vs ZipBooksZoho Books vs ZipBooksPuzzle vs ZipBooksAkaunting vs ZipBooksKashoo vs ZipBooksZipBooks vs BenchZipBooks vs Patriot AccountingZipBooks vs KickZipBooks vs Pilot