IDrive vs Tailscale
Two security & passwords tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
IDrive costs less for a six-person team.
IDrive fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor.
Tailscale: Free for small teams.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Cloud backup for a team's computers, $9.99 a month for 5 | Private network for your team's devices, free for up to 6 users |
| Starting price | From $9.99/mo | From $8/person |
| Six-person team | $19.99/mo | $48/mo |
| Plans | Team: 5 users, 5 TB $9.99/mo billed yearly, $11.99 monthly; 10 users $19.99; first year 30% off. Business (unlimited users, servers) from $19.99/mo yearly for 500 GB. Server backup on Team $5/mo per server | Personal free (up to 6 users, unlimited devices); Standard $8/user/mo; Premium $18/user/mo; Enterprise by quote |
| Pricing model | Paid | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | 5 on the entry Team plan | 6 on free |
| Integrations | Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace backup (extra), Synology and QNAP NAS, SQL Server, Exchange, Hyper-V, VMware | Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Okta, GitHub sign-in |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: 24/7 · Live chat: 24/7 | Not published |
| Incidents posted | We found no public status page for IDrive. | 19 incidents posted on Tailscale's status page, which covers all Tailscale products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Tailscale. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 1,201 reviews | 4.9 / 5 from 7 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | 2.1 / 5 from 1,781 reviews | 3.9 / 5 from 25 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 55 | 40 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 45 | 35 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 60 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 82 | 78 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 55 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit IDrive | Visit Tailscale |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
IDrive: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with IDrive or Tailscale
1Password Business vs IDrive1Password Business vs TailscaleBitwarden vs IDriveBitwarden vs TailscaleGoogle Workspace vs IDriveGoogle Workspace vs TailscaleBackblaze vs IDriveBackblaze vs TailscaleBitdefender GravityZone Small Business vs IDriveBitdefender GravityZone Small Business vs TailscaleCrowdStrike Falcon Go vs IDriveCrowdStrike Falcon Go vs TailscaleOptery vs IDriveOptery vs TailscaleDashlane vs IDriveDashlane vs TailscaleProton Pass vs IDriveProton Pass vs TailscaleIDrive vs NordLayerIDrive vs ESET PROTECTTailscale vs NordLayerTailscale vs ESET PROTECT