Backblaze vs Tailscale
Two security & passwords tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Tailscale costs less for a six-person team.
Backblaze fits retail shop, restaurant or café, service business, trades or contractor, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Unlimited computer backup for a flat yearly fee | Private network for your team's devices, free for up to 6 users |
| Starting price | From $8.25/person | From $8/person |
| Six-person team | $49.50/mo | $48/mo |
| Plans | $99/yr per computer ($8.25/mo) for business backup; $9/mo billed monthly | Personal free (up to 6 users, unlimited devices); Standard $8/user/mo; Premium $18/user/mo; Enterprise by quote |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Per computer | 6 on free |
| Integrations | Standalone | Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Okta, GitHub sign-in |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon: 9am - 12pm, 1:30pm - 5pm PT; Tues - Fri: 9am - 12pm, 1pm - 5pm PT · Email: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time | Not published |
| Incidents posted | Backblaze has a public status page. Status page | 19 incidents posted on Tailscale's status page, which covers all Tailscale products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 2 marked major or critical by Tailscale. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 145 reviews | 4.9 / 5 from 7 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 239 reviews | 3.9 / 5 from 25 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 60 | 40 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 35 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 60 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 78 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Backblaze | Visit Tailscale |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Backblaze or Tailscale
1Password Business vs Backblaze1Password Business vs TailscaleBitwarden vs BackblazeBitwarden vs TailscaleGoogle Workspace vs BackblazeGoogle Workspace vs TailscaleBackblaze vs Bitdefender GravityZone Small BusinessBackblaze vs CrowdStrike Falcon GoBackblaze vs OpteryBackblaze vs DashlaneBackblaze vs Proton PassBackblaze vs IDriveBackblaze vs NordLayerBackblaze vs ESET PROTECTBitdefender GravityZone Small Business vs TailscaleCrowdStrike Falcon Go vs TailscaleOptery vs TailscaleDashlane vs TailscaleProton Pass vs TailscaleIDrive vs TailscaleTailscale vs NordLayerTailscale vs ESET PROTECT