Lightspeed Retail vs Katana

Two inventory tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.

Short version

  • Lightspeed Retail fits retail shop.
  • Katana fits trades or contractor, online store.
CompareLightspeed RetailLightspeedKatanaKatana Technologies
In one linePOS and inventory built for shops with deep catalogsManufacturing inventory, free for up to 30 SKUs
Starting priceFrom $89/moFree
Six-person teamNot listed$0/mo
PlansBasic $89/mo; Core $149/mo; Plus $289/mo (1 register each, extra registers $59/mo, each extra location another plan fee); card-present payments 1.5% with Lightspeed Payments; up to 18% off annual ($109/mo on Basic monthly)Free (up to 30 SKUs, unlimited users and locations; unlimited SKUs for the first 15 days; Shopify is the only store integration on Free); Advantage by quote on a yearly contract
Pricing modelPaidFree tier
Free trial——
Users1 register per planUnlimited
IntegrationsQuickBooks, Xero, Shopify, MailchimpShopify, QuickBooks Online, Xero
Team size2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people2–10 people · 11–50 people
Available inUS · UK · CA · AUUS · UK · CA · AU
Phone supportPlans not statedNone listed
Live chatPlans not statedNone listed
Support hoursPhone: 24/7 · Live chat: 24/7Not published
Incidents posted32 incidents posted on Lightspeed's status page, which covers all Lightspeed products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 9 marked major or critical by Lightspeed. Status pageWe found no public status page for Katana Technologies.
Capterra score4.0 / 5 from 976 reviewsSee reviews on Capterra
Trustpilot scoreNot listed2.0 / 5 from 13 reviews (few reviews)
Fit: Retail shop9245
Fit: Restaurant or café1520
Fit: Service business1510
Fit: Agency or studio55
Fit: Trades or contractor2040
Fit: Online store7080
Why people pick it
  • Best-in-class retail inventory
  • Multi-store
  • Free tier for very small catalogs
  • Built for production planning
Where it falls short
  • Pricier than Square
  • Annual contracts common
  • Paid plan price not published
  • 30-SKU cap on free
Visit Lightspeed Retail Visit Katana

Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices

Katana: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.

More comparisons with Lightspeed Retail or Katana

Every inventory comparison