Lightspeed Retail vs BoxHero
Two inventory tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Lightspeed Retail fits retail shop, online store.
BoxHero fits restaurant or café, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor.
Lightspeed Retail suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | POS and inventory built for shops with deep catalogs | Simple stock counts across locations, free for 100 items |
| Starting price | From $89/mo | Free |
| Six-person team | Not listed | $39/mo |
| Plans | Basic $89/mo; Core $149/mo; Plus $289/mo (1 register each, extra registers $59/mo, each extra location another plan fee); card-present payments 1.5% with Lightspeed Payments; up to 18% off annual ($109/mo on Basic monthly) | Personal free (1 member, 100 items, 1 location; no add-ons); Business $24/mo billed yearly, $30 monthly (3 members, 1,000 items, 3 locations); extra members $5/mo each, 1,000 more items $10/mo, and 10 more locations $10/mo, on Business only |
| Pricing model | Paid | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | 30 days |
| Users | 1 register per plan | 1 on free; 3 on Business |
| Integrations | QuickBooks, Xero, Shopify, Mailchimp | Open API, webhooks, Excel import and export |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people · 51–200 people | Just me · 2–10 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Support hours | Phone: 24/7 · Live chat: 24/7 | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 32 incidents posted on Lightspeed's status page, which covers all Lightspeed products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 9 marked major or critical by Lightspeed. Status page | 0 incidents posted on BoxHero's status page in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.0 / 5 from 976 reviews | 4.8 / 5 from 19 reviews (few reviews) |
| Fit: Retail shop | 92 | 72 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 15 | 50 |
| Fit: Service business | 15 | 45 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 5 | 15 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 20 | 60 |
| Fit: Online store | 70 | 55 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Lightspeed Retail | Visit BoxHero |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Lightspeed Retail or BoxHero
Sortly vs Lightspeed RetailSortly vs BoxHeroCin7 Core vs Lightspeed RetailCin7 Core vs BoxHeroZoho Inventory vs Lightspeed RetailZoho Inventory vs BoxHeroLightspeed Retail vs MRPeasyLightspeed Retail vs OrdoroLightspeed Retail vs UnleashedLightspeed Retail vs StocksmithLightspeed Retail vs VeeqoLightspeed Retail vs SOS InventoryLightspeed Retail vs KatanaLightspeed Retail vs inFlow InventoryMRPeasy vs BoxHeroOrdoro vs BoxHeroUnleashed vs BoxHeroStocksmith vs BoxHeroBoxHero vs VeeqoBoxHero vs SOS InventoryBoxHero vs KatanaBoxHero vs inFlow Inventory