Backblaze vs Proton Pass
Two security & passwords tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Proton Pass costs less for a six-person team.
Backblaze: Set and forget.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Unlimited computer backup for a flat yearly fee | Low-cost team password manager from the makers of Proton Mail |
| Starting price | From $8.25/person | From $1.99/person |
| Six-person team | $49.50/mo | $11.94/mo |
| Plans | $99/yr per computer ($8.25/mo) for business backup; $9/mo billed monthly | Per user, billed yearly, 3-user minimum: Essentials $1.99/mo (up to 30 users); Professional $4.49/mo adds SSO, SCIM, and logs. Monthly $4.99/$6.99 |
| Pricing model | Free trial | Free trial |
| Free trial | — | 14 days |
| Users | Per computer | 3 minimum; Essentials up to 30 |
| Integrations | Standalone | SSO and SCIM (Professional), SIEM, CLI, browser, desktop, and mobile apps |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · UK · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Every paid plan |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Live chat: Mon: 9am - 12pm, 1:30pm - 5pm PT; Tues - Fri: 9am - 12pm, 1pm - 5pm PT · Email: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time | Not published |
| Incidents posted | Backblaze has a public status page. Status page | 4 incidents posted on Proton's status page, which covers all Proton products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 3 marked major or critical by Proton. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.7 / 5 from 145 reviews | 4.9 / 5 from 7 reviews (few reviews) |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 239 reviews | Not listed |
| Fit: Retail shop | 60 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 45 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 78 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 85 | 78 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 55 |
| Fit: Online store | 65 | 68 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Backblaze | Visit Proton Pass |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. How we calculate prices
Proton Pass: partner link. We may earn a commission; it never affects rankings.
More comparisons with Backblaze or Proton Pass
1Password Business vs Backblaze1Password Business vs Proton PassBitwarden vs BackblazeBitwarden vs Proton PassGoogle Workspace vs BackblazeGoogle Workspace vs Proton PassBackblaze vs Bitdefender GravityZone Small BusinessBackblaze vs CrowdStrike Falcon GoBackblaze vs OpteryBackblaze vs DashlaneBackblaze vs IDriveBackblaze vs TailscaleBackblaze vs NordLayerBackblaze vs ESET PROTECTBitdefender GravityZone Small Business vs Proton PassCrowdStrike Falcon Go vs Proton PassOptery vs Proton PassDashlane vs Proton PassProton Pass vs IDriveProton Pass vs TailscaleProton Pass vs NordLayerProton Pass vs ESET PROTECT