Helcim vs Clover
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Clover fits restaurant or café.
Helcim fits service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with interchange-plus pricing that drops as you grow | POS hardware and software with published rates and 3-year terms |
| Starting price | Free | $0 software + hardware |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0 software + hardware |
| On $10,000 of card sales | Interchange plus a markup | $300/mo |
| Plans | No monthly fee; in-person interchange + 0.40% + 8¢, online interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ (first $50K/mo, lower above); card reader $199; Smart Terminal $349 | Software: Starter $0 (in person 2.6% + 10¢ with Compact hardware, $349 or $16/mo for 36 months), Essentials $29.95/mo, Growth $84.95-$89.95/mo (2.3% + 10¢); e.g. Station Duo $1,899 + $84.95/mo or $180/mo for 36 months; keyed 3.5% + 10¢; larger systems' software $104.90/mo (retail), $109.90 (restaurant), $129.85 (full-service); 36-month subscriptions cannot be cancelled |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Priced by device |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero, Wave, Zoho Books | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · CA | US · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | None listed | Not looked up yet |
| Support hours | Phone: Monday – Friday: 7am – 5pm MT; Saturdays: 9am – 5pm MT | Not published |
| Incidents posted | Helcim has a public status page. Status page | 6 incidents posted on Clover Network (Fiserv)'s status page, which covers all Clover Network (Fiserv) products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Clover Network (Fiserv). Status page |
| Capterra score | Not listed | 3.8 / 5 from 586 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.1 / 5 from 1,112 reviews | 1.9 / 5 from 2,215 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 82 | 82 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 55 | 82 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 60 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 50 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Helcim | Visit Clover | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Helcim or Clover
Square POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs CloverToast vs HelcimToast vs CloverShopify POS vs HelcimShopify POS vs CloverSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs CloverLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverHelcim vs LoyverseHelcim vs KORONA POSHelcim vs SpotOnHelcim vs TouchBistroHelcim vs eHopperLoyverse vs CloverKORONA POS vs CloverClover vs SpotOnClover vs TouchBistroClover vs eHopper