SumUp vs Clover
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Clover fits restaurant or café.
SumUp fits service business, trades or contractor.
Clover suits teams past ten people.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | POS hardware and software with published rates and 3-year terms |
| Starting price | Free | $0 software + hardware |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0 software + hardware |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | $300/mo |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | Software: Starter $0 (in person 2.6% + 10¢ with Compact hardware, $349 or $16/mo for 36 months), Essentials $29.95/mo, Growth $84.95-$89.95/mo (2.3% + 10¢); e.g. Station Duo $1,899 + $84.95/mo or $180/mo for 36 months; keyed 3.5% + 10¢; larger systems' software $104.90/mo (retail), $109.90 (restaurant), $129.85 (full-service); 36-month subscriptions cannot be cancelled |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Priced by device |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | Not looked up yet |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | 6 incidents posted on Clover Network (Fiserv)'s status page, which covers all Clover Network (Fiserv) products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Clover Network (Fiserv). Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | 3.8 / 5 from 586 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | 1.9 / 5 from 2,215 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 82 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 82 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 60 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit Clover | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or Clover
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs CloverToast vs SumUpToast vs CloverShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs CloverSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopperLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverHelcim vs CloverLoyverse vs CloverKORONA POS vs CloverClover vs SpotOnClover vs TouchBistroClover vs eHopper