Square POS vs Helcim
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Square POS fits retail shop, restaurant or café.
Helcim fits agency or studio, trades or contractor.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing | Free POS with interchange-plus pricing that drops as you grow |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $320/mo | Interchange plus a markup |
| Plans | Free $0/mo: 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, dip, or swipe; Plus $49/mo per location: 2.5% + 15¢; Premium $149/mo per location: 2.4% + 15¢ | No monthly fee; in-person interchange + 0.40% + 8¢, online interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ (first $50K/mo, lower above); card reader $199; Smart Terminal $349 |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Zoho Books | |
| Also connects to | Akaunting, Kashoo, ZipBooks, Bench | Wave |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · CA |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Phone: Monday – Friday: 7am – 5pm MT; Saturdays: 9am – 5pm MT |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | Helcim has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,039 reviews | Not listed |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 4.1 / 5 from 1,112 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 95 | 82 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 85 | 55 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 20 | 50 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 60 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square POS | Visit Helcim | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square POS or Helcim
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSquare POS vs LoyverseSquare POS vs KORONA POSSquare POS vs CloverSquare POS vs SpotOnSquare POS vs TouchBistroSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs HelcimShopify POS vs HelcimSumUp vs HelcimLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimHelcim vs LoyverseHelcim vs KORONA POSHelcim vs CloverHelcim vs SpotOnHelcim vs TouchBistroHelcim vs eHopper