Helcim vs SpotOn
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Helcim costs less for a six-person team.
Helcim fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.SpotOn fits restaurant or café.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with interchange-plus pricing that drops as you grow | Restaurant POS with published rates and 24/7 support |
| Starting price | Free | From $55/mo |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $55/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | Interchange plus a markup | $359/mo |
| Plans | No monthly fee; in-person interchange + 0.40% + 8¢, online interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ (first $50K/mo, lower above); card reader $199; Smart Terminal $349 | Restaurants: POS Essentials $55/station/mo, month to month (2.45% + 15¢, keyed 3.45% + 15¢) plus implementation; All-In $0/station (2.79% + 20¢, 2-year term, minimums); retail Terminal $25/mo + $240 hardware |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Per station |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online, Xero, Wave, Zoho Books | None in our catalog |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · CA | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | None listed | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: Monday – Friday: 7am – 5pm MT; Saturdays: 9am – 5pm MT | Phone: 24/7 for restaurant management, payment devices and hardware |
| Incidents posted | Helcim has a public status page. Status page | 2 incidents posted on SpotOn's status page, which covers all SpotOn products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by SpotOn. Status page |
| Capterra score | Not listed | 4.2 / 5 from 371 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 4.1 / 5 from 1,112 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 625 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 82 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 55 | 90 |
| Fit: Service business | 85 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 50 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 80 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 60 | 15 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Helcim | Visit SpotOn | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Helcim or SpotOn
Square POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs SpotOnToast vs HelcimToast vs SpotOnShopify POS vs HelcimShopify POS vs SpotOnSumUp vs HelcimSumUp vs SpotOnLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimLightspeed Restaurant vs SpotOnHelcim vs LoyverseHelcim vs KORONA POSHelcim vs CloverHelcim vs TouchBistroHelcim vs eHopperLoyverse vs SpotOnKORONA POS vs SpotOnClover vs SpotOnSpotOn vs TouchBistroSpotOn vs eHopper