Square POS vs Clover
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Clover costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.Square POS fits retail shop, service business, agency or studio, trades or contractor, online store.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Free POS with pay-as-you-go processing | POS hardware and software with published rates and 3-year terms |
| Starting price | Free | $0 software + hardware |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0 software + hardware |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $320/mo | $300/mo |
| Plans | Free $0/mo: 2.6% + 15¢ per tap, dip, or swipe; Plus $49/mo per location: 2.5% + 15¢; Premium $149/mo per location: 2.4% + 15¢ | Software: Starter $0 (in person 2.6% + 10¢ with Compact hardware, $349 or $16/mo for 36 months), Essentials $29.95/mo, Growth $84.95-$89.95/mo (2.3% + 10¢); e.g. Station Duo $1,899 + $84.95/mo or $180/mo for 36 months; keyed 3.5% + 10¢; larger systems' software $104.90/mo (retail), $109.90 (restaurant), $129.85 (full-service); 36-month subscriptions cannot be cancelled |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Priced by device |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online | |
| Also connects to | Xero, Zoho Books, Akaunting, Kashoo, ZipBooks, Bench | No others on record |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK · CA · AU | US · CA · AU |
| Phone support | Every plan (US) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated | Not looked up yet |
| Support hours | Phone: 6am–6pm PT M–F for the first 90 days (Square Free only), 6am–6pm PT M–F (Square Plus only), 24/7 (Square Premium only) | Not published |
| Incidents posted | 14 incidents posted on Block's status page, which covers all Block products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by Block. Status page | 6 incidents posted on Clover Network (Fiserv)'s status page, which covers all Clover Network (Fiserv) products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Clover Network (Fiserv). Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.6 / 5 from 3,039 reviews | 3.8 / 5 from 586 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | Not listed | 1.9 / 5 from 2,215 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 95 | 82 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 85 | 82 |
| Fit: Service business | 80 | 60 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 20 | 10 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 60 | 45 |
| Fit: Online store | 55 | 30 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Square POS | Visit Clover | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Square POS or Clover
Square POS vs ToastSquare POS vs Shopify POSSquare POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs Lightspeed RestaurantSquare POS vs HelcimSquare POS vs LoyverseSquare POS vs KORONA POSSquare POS vs SpotOnSquare POS vs TouchBistroSquare POS vs eHopperToast vs CloverShopify POS vs CloverSumUp vs CloverLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverHelcim vs CloverLoyverse vs CloverKORONA POS vs CloverClover vs SpotOnClover vs TouchBistroClover vs eHopper