Clover vs SpotOn
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Clover costs less on $10,000 of monthly card sales.
Clover fits retail shop, service business, trades or contractor, online store.SpotOn: All rates and station fees published.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | POS hardware and software with published rates and 3-year terms | Restaurant POS with published rates and 24/7 support |
| Starting price | $0 software + hardware | From $55/mo |
| Six-person team | $0 software + hardware | $55/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | $359/mo |
| Plans | Software: Starter $0 (in person 2.6% + 10¢ with Compact hardware, $349 or $16/mo for 36 months), Essentials $29.95/mo, Growth $84.95-$89.95/mo (2.3% + 10¢); e.g. Station Duo $1,899 + $84.95/mo or $180/mo for 36 months; keyed 3.5% + 10¢; larger systems' software $104.90/mo (retail), $109.90 (restaurant), $129.85 (full-service); 36-month subscriptions cannot be cancelled | Restaurants: POS Essentials $55/station/mo, month to month (2.45% + 15¢, keyed 3.45% + 15¢) plus implementation; All-In $0/station (2.79% + 20¢, 2-year term, minimums); retail Terminal $25/mo + $240 hardware |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Paid |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Priced by device | Per station |
| Both connect to | No shared connections on record. | |
| Also connects to | QuickBooks Online | None in our catalog |
| Team size | 2–10 people · 11–50 people | 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · CA · AU | US |
| Phone support | Plans not stated | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Not looked up yet | None listed |
| Support hours | Not published | Phone: 24/7 for restaurant management, payment devices and hardware |
| Incidents posted | 6 incidents posted on Clover Network (Fiserv)'s status page, which covers all Clover Network (Fiserv) products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 1 marked major or critical by Clover Network (Fiserv). Status page | 2 incidents posted on SpotOn's status page, which covers all SpotOn products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 0 marked major or critical by SpotOn. Status page |
| Capterra score | 3.8 / 5 from 586 reviews | 4.2 / 5 from 371 reviews |
| Trustpilot score | 1.9 / 5 from 2,215 reviews | 4.6 / 5 from 625 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 82 | 55 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 82 | 90 |
| Fit: Service business | 60 | 40 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 10 | 5 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 45 | 20 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 15 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit Clover | Visit SpotOn | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with Clover or SpotOn
Square POS vs CloverSquare POS vs SpotOnToast vs CloverToast vs SpotOnShopify POS vs CloverShopify POS vs SpotOnSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnLightspeed Restaurant vs CloverLightspeed Restaurant vs SpotOnHelcim vs CloverHelcim vs SpotOnLoyverse vs CloverLoyverse vs SpotOnKORONA POS vs CloverKORONA POS vs SpotOnClover vs TouchBistroClover vs eHopperSpotOn vs TouchBistroSpotOn vs eHopper