SumUp vs Helcim
Two point of sale tools side by side. Prices are the starting plan a small business would pick, in USD.
Short version
Helcim fits service business, agency or studio, online store.
Helcim suits teams past ten people.
SumUp: No monthly fee on the free plan.
| Compare | ||
|---|---|---|
| In one line | Card reader and free POS app for low-volume sellers | Free POS with interchange-plus pricing that drops as you grow |
| Starting price | Free | Free |
| Six-person team | $0/mo | $0/mo |
| On $10,000 of card sales | $300/mo | Interchange plus a markup |
| Plans | Free app, $0/mo; POS Plus $49/mo; SumUp POS from $99/mo; in-person 2.6% + 10¢; online or keyed 3.5% + 15¢ | No monthly fee; in-person interchange + 0.40% + 8¢, online interchange + 0.50% + 25¢ (first $50K/mo, lower above); card reader $199; Smart Terminal $349 |
| Pricing model | Free tier | Free tier |
| Free trial | — | — |
| Users | Unlimited | Unlimited |
| Both connect to | QuickBooks Online, Xero | |
| Also connects to | No others on record | Wave, Zoho Books |
| Team size | Just me · 2–10 people | Just me · 2–10 people · 11–50 people |
| Available in | US · UK | US · CA |
| Phone support | Plans not stated (US); plans not stated (UK) | Plans not stated |
| Live chat | Plans not stated (UK) | None listed |
| Support hours | Phone: POS & Loyalty: 9AM - 9PM ET 7 days per week, Card readers: 10AM - 7PM ET Mon. - Fri. | Phone: Monday – Friday: 7am – 5pm MT; Saturdays: 9am – 5pm MT |
| Incidents posted | 11 incidents posted on SumUp's status page, which covers all SumUp products and regions, in the 90 days to Oct 27, 2026; 5 marked major or critical by SumUp. Status page | Helcim has a public status page. Status page |
| Capterra score | 4.8 / 5 from 17 reviews (few reviews) | Not listed |
| Trustpilot score | 4.2 / 5 from 60,405 reviews | 4.1 / 5 from 1,112 reviews |
| Fit: Retail shop | 78 | 82 |
| Fit: Restaurant or café | 50 | 55 |
| Fit: Service business | 75 | 85 |
| Fit: Agency or studio | 15 | 50 |
| Fit: Trades or contractor | 72 | 80 |
| Fit: Online store | 30 | 60 |
| Why people pick it |
|
|
| Where it falls short |
|
|
| Visit SumUp | Visit Helcim | |
Six-person prices are what a team of six would pay on the published plans; "Not listed" means those plans don't cover six. Card sales costs include the plan price and card fees at US rates, at a $25 average sale. How we calculate prices
More comparisons with SumUp or Helcim
Square POS vs SumUpSquare POS vs HelcimToast vs SumUpToast vs HelcimShopify POS vs SumUpShopify POS vs HelcimSumUp vs Lightspeed RestaurantSumUp vs LoyverseSumUp vs KORONA POSSumUp vs CloverSumUp vs SpotOnSumUp vs TouchBistroSumUp vs eHopperLightspeed Restaurant vs HelcimHelcim vs LoyverseHelcim vs KORONA POSHelcim vs CloverHelcim vs SpotOnHelcim vs TouchBistroHelcim vs eHopper